Call-for-Nominations: SPEC Distinguished Dissertation Award 2016

The SPEC Distinguished Dissertation Award aims to recognize outstanding doctoral dissertations in the field of computer benchmarking, performance evaluation, and experimental system analysis in general. Nominated dissertations will be evaluated in terms of scientific originality, scientific significance, practical relevance, impact, and quality of the presentation.

The SPEC Research Group promotes research in quantitative system evaluation and analysis both with classical performance metrics – such as response time, throughput, scalability and efficiency, as well as other extra-functional system properties included under the term dependability – such as availability, reliability, and security. Contributions of interest span the design of metrics for system evaluation as well as the development of methodologies, techniques and tools for measurement, load testing, profiling, workload characterization, dependability and efficiency evaluation of computing systems.

The winner will receive $1000, which will be awarded at the ICPE 2017 International Conference.

A nomination should include:

  • nomination letter with the name of the student, the title of the dissertation, the institution where the dissertation was defended, and the date of the defense.
  • one-page report that outlines the outstanding contribution of the dissertation.
  • The dissertation itself, including a one-page extended abstract of the dissertation. If the dissertation is written in language other than English, it may be accompanied by publications, in English, describing the same research as the dissertation.

SPEC Distinguished Dissertation Award is open to dissertations that have been defended between October 1, 2015, and September 30, 2016. If there are several outstanding submissions, the committee may split the award between them.

The submission deadline is September 30, 2016. Nominations are welcome at any time before the final submission deadline. Nominations, or questions about the application process, should be sent by e-mail to nominations at spec dot org. The nomination can be provided by anyone except the thesis author. Typically, it is the thesis advisor or a member of the thesis defense committee, but other people – especially experts in performance evaluation – can do so as well

Selection committee:

  • Chair: J. Nelson Amaral, University of Alberta, Canada


  • Walter Binder, University of Lugano
  • Amer Diwan, Google Inc.
  • Lieven Eeckout, Ghent University
  • Rudi Eigenmann, Purdue University
  • Antony L. Hosking, Purdue University
  • Guido Juckeland, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)
  • Kalyan Kumaran, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Klaus-Dieter Lange, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
  • Elliot Moss, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Jeff Reilly, Intel Corporation

You may also like...