Call for Nominations – 2017 Minerva Informatics Equality Award-devoted to initiatives which seek to encourage and support the careers of women in Informatics research and education.

 by irene_contreras, May 4, 2017

Informatics Europe is still accepting nominations for the second Minerva Informatics Equality Award devoted to initiatives which seek to encourage and support the careers of women in Informatics research and education.

The second of this annual award will be presented in October 2017 and is sponsored by Google.

The Informatics Europe Minerva Informatics Equality Award recognizes best practices in Departments or Faculties of European universities or research labs that have been demonstrated to have a positive impact for women. On a three-year cycle the award will focus each year on a different stage of the career pipeline:

·         Developing the careers of female faculty, including retention and promotion;

·         Supporting the transition of female PhD and postdoctoral researchers into faculty positions;

·         Encouraging female students to enroll in Computer Science/Informatics programmes and retaining them.

The 2017 Award is devoted to initiatives supporting the transition of female PhD and postdoctoral researchers into faculty positions.

The Award seeks to celebrate successful initiatives that have had a measurable impact on the careers of women within the institution. Such initiatives can serve as exemplars of best practices within the community, with the potential to be widely adopted by other institutions. Nominations will need to demonstrate the impact that has been achieved.

For 2017 examples of impact could include an improved career development and better agreements on career planning for female PhD students and postdocs as recorded in objective surveys of staff experience, and increasing numbers of female faculty.

The Award carries a prize of EUR 5,000

The Award will be given to a Department or Faculty to be used for further work on supporting the transition of female PhD or post-docs to faculty positions. To be eligible, nominated institutions must be located in one of the member or candidate member countries of the

Council of Europe, or Israel. Institutions associated with members of the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award panel are not eligible.

The Award panel will review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves the right to split the prize between at most two different proposals.

Moreover, noteworthy runners up may also be included as exemplars of best practice in future Informatics Europe publications.

Proposals should be submitted only at:

The proposal should include:

·         Contact information for the Head of the nominated Department or Faculty and the nominator (who can be the same);

·         A brief summary or abstract (100 words or less) which can be made public.

·         Description of the initiative (max 2 pages);

·         Evidence of its impact (max 2 pages);

·         An optional reference list (which may include URLs of supporting material);

·         Optionally, one or two letters of support. The letters of support may come, for example, from female staff members who have benefited from the scheme.


·         Full nominations: June 1, 2017

·         Notification of winner(s): August 1, 2017

The Award will be presented at the 13th European Computer Science Summit, in Lisbon, October 23-25, 2017, where a representative of the winning institution(s) will be invited to give a talk on their achievements.

Award Panel:

·         Christine Choppy, Professor of Informatics, University Paris 13(SPC), France (Chair)

·         Serge Abiteboul, Senior Researcher, Inria, France (co-chair Comité Parité-Égalité)

·         Tibor Bosse, Associate Professor of Informatics, VU University Amsterdam, Netherlands (Gender Equality Officer)

·         Gyöngyi Bujdosó, Professor of Informatics, University Debrecen, Hungary

·         Monica Divitini, Professor in Cooperation Technologies, IDI-NTNU, Norway

·         Anna Ingólfsdóttir, Professor of Informatics, University Reykjavik,Iceland

·         Mema Roussopoulos, Associate Professor of Computer Science, University of Athens, Greece

·         Letizia Tanca, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, Politecnico di Milano, Milan, Italy

Further inquiries:

You may also like...